Maryland's Tobacco Resource Center - Linking Professionals to Best Practices

MDQuit's 11th Best Practices Conference

January
2017

We would like to extend a sincere “Thank You” to all our speakers, session presenters, and attendees for their contributions to the 11th annual Best Practices Conference!

Below you’ll find the agenda for the day along with the available presentation materials.

Morning Session

Carlo C. DiClemente, PhD (diclemen@umbc.edu)
Tobacco Use and Cessation in Maryland – Continuing Challenges

Scout, PhD (scoutout@gmail.com)
Keynote Address: Reaching and Serving LGBT Smokers

Mr. Delmonte Jefferson, BS (djefferson@naatpn.org) 
Keynote Address: Banning Menthol as an Endgame to Tobacco Use

Lunchtime Updates

Carlo C. DiClemente, PhD (diclemen@umbc.edu)
Presentation of MDQuit’s Annual Fax to Assist Referral Awards

The following agencies are hereby recognized for their exceptional record of fax referrals to the Maryland Tobacco Quitline for the contract year 7/1/2015 – 6/30/2016

  • Doctor’s Community Hospital
    • Most Referrals to the Maryland Tobacco Quitline Statewide
       
  • Sheppard Pratt Hospital System
    • Most Referrals to the Maryland Tobacco Quitline by a Behavioral Health Treatment Facility
  • Druid Dental Clinic
    • Certificate of Recognition
  • University of Maryland Medical Center, Orthopaedic Trauma Unit
    • Certificate of Recognition
  • Honorable Mentions:
    • Healthcare Access Maryland (HCAM)
    • Cecil County Health Department, Alcohol and Drug Recovery Center
    • Druid Health Center/Clinic

Dawn Berkowitz, MPH, CHES (dawn.berkowitz@maryland.gov)
Updates on Maryland DHMH Tobacco Control Initiatives

William Tilburg, JD (wtilburg@law.umaryland.edu)
Updates on Current & Upcoming Legislation
If you are interested in receiving the LRC’s legislative updates, please send an email to publichealth@law.umaryland.edu to be added to their listserv.

Early Afternoon Sessions
Session A: This Free Life: FDA’s Public Education Campaign Among LGBT Young Adults
Presenters: Janine Delahanty, PhD (Janine.delahanty@fda.hhs.gov) and Ms. Leah Hoffman, MPH (Leah.Hoffman@fda.hhs.gov)
Video Links
This Free Life Presents: Our Story
This Free Life: Be Known for Your Flawless
This Free Life: Tip the Scale
This Free Life: The Moment 
 

Session B [panel]: Celebrating Success: Leveraging the Tobacco Cessation Experience of Behavioral Health Consumers to Help Others
Presenter: Mosaic Community Services
Heidi Kendall, MPA, CPRP (Heidi.Kendall@mosaicinc.org)
Jeffrey Nash, CPRP (Jeffrey.Nash@mosaicinc.org)
Kimberly Tawney, CPRP (Kim.Tawney@mosaicinc.org)

Session C [panel]: Tobacco Prevention: What’s Happening in Maryland Schools and Communities
Counties: Caroline, Charles, Howard, and Kent
Heather Reed, RN, BSN – Caroline Co. Health Department (heatherl.reed@maryland.gov)
Mary Beth Klick, BS – Charles Co. Health Department (marybeth.klick@maryland.gov)
Amy Skaggs, BS – Howard Co. Health Department (askaggs@howardcountymd.gov)
Rebecca Rice, BS, MEd – Kent Co. Health Department (rebecca.rice@maryland.gov)

Late Afternoon Sessions

Session D: This Free Life: FDA’s Public Education Campaign Among LGBT Young Adults
Presenters: Janine Delahanty, PhD (Janine.delahanty@fda.hhs.gov) and Ms. Leah Hoffman, MPH (Leah.Hoffman@fda.hhs.gov)
Video Links
This Free Life Presents: Our Story
This Free Life: Be Known for Your Flawless
This Free Life: Tip the Scale
This Free Life: The Moment 
 

Session E: Cessation Services for African American Smokers
Presenter: Delmonte Jefferson, BS (djefferson@naatpn.org)
Culturally Tailored Cessation Resource: Pathways to Freedom [video link]

Session F: Disparities in E-Cigarette Advertising and Use: Policy Approaches to Prevent Initiation Among Youth and Young Adults
Presenter: Legal Resource Center for Public Health Policy
Kathleen Hoke, JD, khoke@law.umaryland.edu  
William Tilburg, JD, wtilburg@law.umaryland.edu

Additional Materials to Reference
Surgeon General's Report on E-Cigarette Use Among Youth and Young Adults (2016) 
Know the Facts -- a companion website on e-cigarettes and young people