Maryland's Tobacco Resource Center - Linking Professionals to Best Practices

Maryland County Health Departments

Community partners, state and local agencies, healthcare entities, and resource centers all play an important part in helping to protect and prevent Marylanders from tobacco use and exposure. In addition to tobacco control, those who provide assistance to individuals with multiple health needs are important to improving an individual’s overall health. In Maryland there are three county-level entities that assist residents in locating and accessing services for tobacco cessation and other health concerns, which include the following:

Local Health Departments (LHD): Provide resources and services pertaining to tobacco prevention and cessation. Each of Maryland’s 24 jurisdictions has its own LHD which delivers a myriad of public health programming services. All LHDs have oversight from the Maryland Department of Health.

Core Service Agencies (CSA): Plan, manage and monitor local public mental health services for individuals with serious mental illness. Each of Maryland’s 24 jurisdictions has a CSA. These agencies collaborate with other human service agencies to promote comprehensive services for individuals with mental illness who have multiple health needs.

Local Addiction Authorities (LAA): Plan, develop, and manage treatment and rehabilitation services for those with substance abuse disorder. Each of Maryland’s 24 jurisdictions has a LAA. These agencies collaborate with other human service agencies to promote comprehensive services for individuals with a substance use disorder who have multiple health needs.

Below you will find contact information for local health departments, Core Services Agencies, and
Local Addictions Authority listed by each county within Maryland.

 

Allegany County

Local Health Department (LHD)
Tobacco Coordinator, Kathy Dudley
kathy.dudley@maryland.gov
301-759-5050        
12503 Willowbrook Rd.
Cumberland, MD 21501-1745

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Director, Lesa Diehl
achd.mhso@maryland.gov
301-759-5070 Fax: 301-777-5621
Allegany County Mental Health System
P.O. Box 1745
Cumberland, Maryland 21501-1745

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Director, Lesa Diehl
achd.mhso@maryland.gov
301-759-5050 Fax: 301-777-2098
Allegany County Health Department
P.O. Box 1745
Cumberland, Maryland 21501-1745

 

Anne Arundel County

Local Health Department (LHD)
Tobacco Coordinator, Wendy Mahan
hdwmahan@aacounty.org
410-222-7979 
3 Harry S. Truman Parkway
Annapolis, MD 21401

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Director, Adrienne Mickler
mhaaac@aol.com
410-222-7858 Fax: 410-222-7881
PO Box 6675, 1 Truman Pky, 101
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Director, Sandra O’Neill
Hdonei00@aacounty.org
410-222-7164 Fax: 410-222-7348
3 Harry S. Truman Parkway HD24
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

 

Baltimore City

Local Health Department (LHD)
Tobacco Coordinator, Emilie Gilde
emilie.gilde@baltimorecity.gov
410-396-9932 
7 E Redwood Street, Room 319,
Baltimore, MD 21202

Community Health Educator, Leslie McNeil
leslie.mcneil@baltimorecity.gov
410-396-3718
7 E Redwood Street, 2nd Floor
Baltimore, MD 21202

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Director, Crista Taylor
Crista.taylor@bhsbaltimore.org
410-637-1900 Fax: 410-637-1911
100 South Charles Street, Tower 2, Floor 8
Baltimore, Maryland 21201

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Director, Crista Taylor
Crista.taylor@bhsbaltimore.org
410-637-1900 Fax: 410-637-1911
100 South Charles Street, Tower 2, Floor 8
Baltimore, Maryland 21201

 

Baltimore County

Local Health Department (LHD)
Tobacco Coordinator, Vicki Keller
tobacco@baltimorecountymd.gov
410-887-3828
6401 York Road, 3rd Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21212

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Director: Kimberly Cuthrell
kcuthrell@baltimorecountymd.gov
410-887-3828 Fax: 410-887-3786
6401 York Road, Third Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21212

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Director: Kimberly Cuthrell
kcuthrell@baltimorecountymd.gov
410-887-3828 Fax: 410-887-3786
6401 York Road, Third Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21212



Calvert County

Local Health Department (LHD)
Tobacco Coordinator, Jane Dodds
Jane.dodds@maryland.gov
410- 535-5400 Fax: 410-535-1955
PO Box 980
975 Solomon’s Island Road North
Prince Frederick, MD 20678

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Director, David Gale
david.gale@maryland.gov
410-535-5400 Fax: 410-414-8092
P.O. Box 980 Prince
Frederick, Maryland 20678

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Director, Doris McDonald
doris.mcdonald@maryland.gov
410-535-3079 x14 Fax: 410-535-2220
P.O. Box 1180
Prince Frederick, Maryland 20678

 

Caroline County

Local Health Department (LHD)
Tobacco Coordinator, Heather Reed
heatherl.reed@maryland.gov
410-479-8080 Fax:  410-479-2014
403 S. 7th Street
Denton, MD 21629

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Director, Holly Ireland
hireland@midshorebehavioralhealth.org
410-770-4801 Fax: 410-770-4809
28578 Mary’s Court, Suite 1
Easton, Maryland 21601

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Director, Joe Jones
Joe.jones@maryland.gov
410-479-1882 Fax: 410-479-4918
403 South 7th Street
Denton, Maryland 21629

 

Carroll County

Local Health Department (LHD)
Tobacco Coordinator, Barbara White
barbara.white@maryland.gov
(410) 876-4443 Fax: 410- 876-4441
PO Box 845
290 S. Center Street
Westminster, MD 21157

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Director, Sue Doyle
sue.doyle@maryland.gov
410-876-4800 Fax: 410-876-4832
290 South Center Street
Westminster, Maryland 21157

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Director, Sue Doyle
sue.doyle@maryland.gov
410-876-4800 Fax: 410-876-4832
290 South Center Street
Westminster, Maryland 21157

 

Cecil County

Local Health Department (LHD)
Tobacco Coordinator, Jennifer Padgett
jennifer.padgett@maryland.gov
410-996-5168 Fax: 410-996-5183
John M. Byer Health Center
401 Bow St
Elkton, MD 21921

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Director, Shelly Gulledge
shelly.gulledge@maryland.gov
410-996-5112 Fax: 410-996-5134
401 Bow Street
Elkton, Maryland 21921

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Director, Kenneth Collins
ken.collins@maryland.gov
410-996-5106ext. 299 Fax: 410-996-5707
401 Bow Street
Elkton, Maryland 21921

 

Charles County

Local Health Department (LHD)
Tobacco Coordinator, Mary Beth Klick
marybeth.klick@maryland.gov
301-609-6932
P.O. Box 1050
4545 Crain Highway
White Plains, MD 20695

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Director, Karyn Black
Dhmh.charlescountycsa@maryland.gov
301-609-5757 Fax: 301-609-5749
P.O. Box 1050, 4545 Crain Hwy
White Plains, Maryland 20695

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Director, Karyn Black
Dhmh.charlescountycsa@maryland.gov
301-609-5757 Fax: 301-609-5749
P.O. Box 1050, 4545 Crain Hwy
White Plains, Maryland 20695

 

Dorchester County

Local Health Department (LHD)
Tobacco Coordinator, Julie Jones
julie.jones@maryland.gov
410-901-8133 Fax: 410- 901-8199
3 Cedar Street
Cambridge, MD 21613

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Director, Holly Ireland
hireland@midshorebehavioralhealth.org
410-770-4801 Fax: 410-770-4809
28578 Mary’s Court, Suite 1
Easton, Maryland 21601

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Director, Donald Hall
donald.hall@maryland.gov
410-228-7714ext. 106 Fax: 410-228-8049
310 Gay Street, Lower Level
Cambridge, Maryland 21613

 

Frederick County

Local Health Department (LHD)
Tobacco Coordinator, Katie O’Connor-Jenkins
koconnor-jenkins@frederickcountymd.gov
301-600-3357
350 Montevue Lane
Frederick, MD 21702

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Director, Pippa McCullough
pmccullough@mhma.net
301-682-6017 Fax: 301-682-6019
22 South Market Street, Suite 8
Frederick, Maryland 21701

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Director, Andrea Walker
awalker@frederickcountymd.gov
301-334-7670 Fax: 301-334-7671
1025 Memorial Drive
Oakland, Maryland 21550

 

Garrett County

Local Health Department (LHD)
Tobacco Coordinator, Kendra McLaughlin
kendra.mclaughlin@maryland.gov
301-334-7732 Fax: 301- 334-7701
1025 Memorial Drive
Oakland, MD 21550

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Director, FredPolce
fred.polce@maryland.gov
301-334-7440 Fax: 301-334-7441
1025 Memorial Drive
Oakland, Maryland 21550-1943

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Director, FredPolce
fred.polce@maryland.gov
301-334-7670 Fax: 301-334-7671
1025 Memorial Drive
Oakland, Maryland 21550-1943

 

Harford County

Local Health Department (LHD)
Tobacco Coordinator, Will Wiseman
william.wiseman@maryland.gov
410-612-1781
1321 Woodbridge Station
Way, Suite A, Edgewood
MD 21040

Core Services Agency (CSA)
Director: Jessica Kraus
jkraus@harfordmentalhealth.org
410-803-8726 Fax: 410-803-8732
125 N. Main Street
Bel Air, Maryland 21014

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Director: SherylDeares
Sheryl.deares@maryland.gov
410-877-2340 Fax: 410-638-4954
120 Hays Street
Bel Air, Maryland 21014

 

Howard County

Local Health Department
Tobacco Coordinator, Amy Skaggs
askaggs@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4255 
8930 Stanford Boulevard
Columbia, MD, 21045

Core Services Agency (CSA)
Director: Madeline Morey
mmorey@hcmha.org
410-313-7350 Fax: 410-313-7374
8930 Stanford Blvd.
Columbia, Maryland 21045

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Director: Roe Rodgers-Bonaccorsy
rrbonaccorsy@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-7316 Fax: 410-313-6212
8930 Stanford Road
Columbia, Maryland 21046

 

Kent County

Local Health Department (LHD)
Tobacco Coordinator, Rebecca Rice
rebecca.rice@maryland.gov
410-778-2533
125 S. Lynchburg St,
Chestertown, MD 21620

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Director, Holly Ireland
hireland@midshorebehavioralhealth.org
410-770-4801 Fax: 410-770-4809
28578 Mary’s Court, Suite 1
Easton, Maryland 21601

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Director: Tim Dove
tim.dove@maryland.gov
410-778-7053 Fax: 410-778-7052
300 Scheeler Road, P.O. Box 229
Chestertown, Maryland 21620

 

Montgomery County

Local Health Department
Tobacco Coordinator, Tyrone Rowland
Tyrone.Rowland@montgomerycountymd.gov
240-777-3301
1335 Piccard Drive, Lower Level
Rockville, MD 20850

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Behavioral Health Planning and Management: Scott Greene
scott.greene@montgomerycountymd.gov
240-777-1400 Fax: 240-777-1145
401 Hungerford Drive, 1st Floor
Rockville, Maryland 20850

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Behavioral Health Planning and Management: Scott Greene
scott.greene@montgomerycountymd.gov
240-777-1400 Fax: 240-777-1145
401 Hungerford Drive, Suite 458
Rockville, Maryland 20850

 

Prince George’s County

Local Health Department (LHD)
Tobacco Coordinator, Joe Woods
JKWoods1@co.pg.md.us
301-324-2990
425 Brightseat Road
Landover, MD 20785

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Manager: L. Christina Waddler
lcwaddler@co.pg.md.us
301-856-9500 Fax: 301-856-9558
9314 Piscataway Road
Clinton, Maryland 20735

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Manager: L. Christina Waddler
lcwaddler@co.pg.md.us
301-856-9500 Fax: 301-856-9558
9314 Piscataway Road
Clinton, Maryland 20735

 

Queen Anne’s County

Local Health Department (LHD)
Tobacco Coordinator, Iris Carter
iris.carter@maryland.gov
443-262-445
206 N. Commerce Street
Centreville, MD 21617

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Director, Holly Ireland
hireland@midshorebehavioralhealth.org
410-770-4801 Fax: 410-770-4809
28578 Mary’s Court, Suite 1
Easton, Maryland 21601

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Director: Gary Fry
gary.fry@maryland.gov
410-758-1306 x4534 Fax: 410-758-2133
206 North Commerce Street
Centreville, Maryland 21617

 

Somerset County

Local Health Department (LHD)
Tobacco Coordinator, Sharon Lynch
sharon.lynch@maryland.gov
443-523-1760
7920 Crisfield Highway
Westover, MD 21871

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Director: Shannon Frey
Shannon.frey@maryland.gov
443-523-1815 Fax: 410-651-3189
7920 Crisfield Highway
Westover, Maryland 21871

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Director: Sharon Lynch
Sharon.lynch@maryland.gov
443-523-1751 Fax: 410-651-3189
7920 Crisfield Highway
Westover, Maryland 21871

 

St. Mary’s County

Local Health Department (LHD)
Tobacco Coordinator, Jane Dodds
Jane.dodds@maryland.gov
(301) 475-407
21580 Peabody St
PO Box 316
Leonardtown, MD 20650

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Behavioral Health Director: Tammy Loewe
Smchd.LBHA@maryland.gov
301-475-4330
21508 Peabody St, P.O. Box 316
Leonardtown, Maryland 20650

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Behavioral Health Director: Tammy Loewe
Smchd.LBHA@maryland.gov
301-475-4330
21508 Peabody St, P.O. Box 316
Leonardtown, Maryland 20650

 

Talbot County

Local Health Department (LHD)
Tobacco Coordinator, Alexandra Duff
Alexandra.duff@maryland.gov
410-819-5600
100 S. Hanson St
Easton, MD 21601

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Director, Holly Ireland
hireland@midshorebehavioralhealth.org
410-770-4801 Fax: 410-770-4809
28578 Mary’s Court, Suite 1
Easton, Maryland 21601

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Director, SarahCloxton
Sarah.cloxton@maryland.gov
410-819-5600 Fax: 410-819-5691
100 S Hanson Street
Easton, Maryland 21601

 

Washington County

Local Health Department (LHD)
Tobacco Coordinator, Tammy Keener
tammy.keener@maryland.gov
240-313-3314
13114 Pennsylvania Avenue
Hagerstown, MD 21742

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Director: Rick Rock
rickr@wcmha.org
301-739-2490 Fax: 301-739-2250
339 E. Antietam Street, Suite #5
Hagerstown, Maryland

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Director: Victoria Sterling
Victoria.sterling@maryland.gov
240-313-3356 Fax: 240-313-3239
13114 Pennsylvania Avenue
Hagerstown, Maryland 21742

 

Wicomico County

Local Health Department (LHD)
Tobacco Coordinator, Rhonda Bryant
Rhondad.bryant@maryland.gov
410-334-3480
108 E. Main Street
Salisbury, MD 21801

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Director: Tammy Griffin
tammy.griffin@maryland.gov
410-543-7480 Fax: 410-219-2876
108 East Main Street
Salisbury, Maryland 21801

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Director: Tammy Griffin
tammy.griffin@maryland.gov
410-543-7480 Fax: 410-219-2876
108 East Main Street
Salisbury, Maryland 21801

 

Worcester County

Local Health Department (LHD)
EllenWillinghan
ellen.willinghan@maryland.gov
410-632-0056
6040 Public Landing Rd.
Snow Hill, MD, 21863

Core Service Agency (CSA)
Director: Jessica Sexauer
jessica.sexauer@maryland.gov
410-632-3366 Fax: 410-632-0065
6040 Public Landing (PO Box 249)
Snow Hill, Maryland 21863

Local Addictions Authority (LAA)
Director: Jessica Sexauer
jessica.sexauer@maryland.gov
410-632-3366 Fax: 410-632-0065
6040 Public Landing (PO Box 249)
Snow Hill, Maryland 21863